Food is Love

In my family food is love. No occasion, big or small, passes without the presence of a cheesecake, bap or casserole. My Nanas chocolate brownie is used as currency and my mothers banana muffins never outlive a family visit.

Every Christmas I bake bags of edible delights for my extended family. Christmas Eve sees me covered in flour, with doughy hands and a stack of recipes in clearfile folders. This year I gifted my family Cranberry , Macadamia and Almond Biscotti, Peppermint Cremes, Gingerbread, Cheese Straws, Chocolate Sultana Biscuits and Banana Chocolate Muffins.

DSCF5508

It was my first attempt at biscotti, and it came out ever so well! I used this recipe from Martha Stewart, and while my dough seemed somewhat stickier than hers (there was no way I could “shape it into logs”, I basically just poured it onto the tray!) the result was delicious!

I changed out the pistachios for macadamias and almonds – just because I like them better. Next time I’ll add dried apricots and dark chocolate – YUM!

DSCF5510
I’m in a foodie mood at the moment, so my next few blog posts will be treats and family recipes. Coming up next – tiny tantalising peppermint cremes!

Leave a Reply

