Super Tangy Lemon Yoghurt Cake

There is no flavour that compares to a ripe lemon. Tangy and tart with a hidden sweetness, lemons are one of my favourite flavours to bake with!

This cake is my current obsession. It’s moist and summery, with a delectable balance of sour and sweet. It’s also one of the easiest cakes I’ve ever made.

I made three of these in two weeks, and ate one almost all by myself ( yes I’m ashamed. So very, very ashamed).


The recipe is from Alison Holst, but I change a few things. I’ve marked these below :)

Lemon Yoghurt Cake

a 21cm ring cake:

1 1/2 cups sugar
Rind of 2 lemons (I always use three for extra lemony-ness)
2 large eggs
1/2 cup canola or other light vegetable oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup yoghurt
2-3 Tbsp lemon juice
1 1/2 cups self-raising flour

oven on to 190 degrees Celsius, or 180C if using a fan oven.

The original instructions were for people with fancy schmancy food processors. I’m old school, so I used the directions below.

Grate all the coloured peel from the lemons into a large bowl.
Add the sugar, eggs and oil, then whisk together.
Add the salt, yoghurt and lemon juice and mix again.
Sift in the flour, then mix gently until just combined.

Pour into your lightly greased ring tin. bake for 30 minutes (mine always takes 40 minutes, so check it to see if a skewer comes out clean before deciding if it’s cooked!).

With this cake it’s really important to let it cool before removing it from the tin. If you’re impatient – like me – some of it will choose to remain in the tin. If this happens, don’t panic! Just keep calm and decorate! It’s amazing what icing sugar, icing, or a few daisies can disguise…

For an extra moist and lemony cake, I gently pour lemon juice over the warm cake before sprinkling it with white sugar. This creates a delicate, crunchy sweet crust!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

